Skip to content

Nostalgia Music

December 22, 2008

Well, I’m back in the States for Christmas.  The last time I was on this side of the world was in January ’08 when my brother got hitched.  I was only back for 3 or 4 days that time, and I didn’t even make it to my home–only to DC, where the wedding was.  This time I did it up proper: 2 weeks home and the hope of seeing a lot of old friends and family.

Anyways, being home after being away for almost 2 years is guaranteed to stir up some old memories.  I was sifting through the old bootleg VHS tapes that my parents still keep (yes, they are the most frugal people in the world and would wait for a movie to come on TV and tape it instead of purchasing it) and noticed one of my all-time favorite movies: Stand By Me.

Not only does the movie have a pretty amazing cast (River Phoenix, Corey Feldman, Jerry O’Connell, Kiefer Sutherland, Richard Dreyfuss, John Cusack), a great coming-of-age story, a fantastic screenplay–it has one of the best soundtracks of last 30 years.  Many of the songs are personal favorites because I grew up listening to oldies (until I discovered pop music and then punk rock around age 13 or so).  Here’s the listing:

1. Everyday – Buddy Holly
2. Let the Good Times Roll – Shirley & Lee
3. Come Go with MeThe Del Vikings
4. Whispering Bells – The Del Vikings
5. Get a JobThe Silhouettes
6. Lollipop (Ronald & Ruby cover)The Chordettes
7. Yakety YakThe Coasters
8. Great Balls of FireJerry Lee Lewis
9. Mr. LeeThe Bobbettes
10. Stand by MeBen E. King 

…and those are merely the songs on the OST.  Their is so much more great music in the movie (Rockin’ Robin, for example).  However, this has to be my favorite song in the movie as well as my favorite song of Buddy Holly’s:

Ok, I’ll add in links to all those artists and update this post when I have a little more time, but right now I have to head out to see some friends.  If you’ve never seen them movie, give it a shot, it’s a must-see for some kick-in-the-pants nostalgia.

Leave a Reply

